Rage to Live


Three years in the making, Blame The Victims is the second release from Glenn Morrow and his band Rage to Live (Rich Grula - bass, Bob Riley - drums, Ed Tomney - guitar). Their 1986 debut had typically hard-nosed critics gushing about romance and sensuality and was hailed in periodicals such as Rolling Stone, The New York Times and The Village Voice.

Rage to Live was formed as a side project for Morrow while he was still fronting his band, The Individuals. Along with other bands such as The Feelies, The dB's and Yo La Tengo, The Individuals were tagged by critics as originating the "Hoboken Sound". The Individuals broke up in 1983. Morrow claims to have been inspired to leave the group after witnessing his first Replacements show.

Rage to Live's debut was actually the very first Bar/None release. At the time Bar/None had no staff, so Morrow took it upon himself to handle all of the promotion and publicity for the album. He had already built a network of contacts in the alternative music community having worked as an Editor at New York Rocker magazine and through national touring with The Individuals.

In some ways Rage to Live is more of a club than a band. It's members have rich and varied careers. Guitar wizard Ed Tomney is a successful painter, as well as a collaborator with the artist Jonathan Borofsky. Ed also builds guitar robots that play themselves. Rich Grula, who co-produced "Blame The Victims", is currently performing as part of Otis Ball & The Chains. Bob Riley is busy working on his next album for his group "Grace Pool", and he is also one of New York City's top session drummers. Other club members have included Peter Holsapple (dB's) and Chris Butler (Waitresses). Guest appearances on "Blame The Victims" include Richard Lloyd (Television), John "J.T" Terlesky and Dan McKinney (The Original Sins), David Schramm (ex-Yo La Tengo), and Elly Brown (Grace Pool).

Blame The Victims is a rich and varied tapestry of sonic pleasure. A little bit country, a little bit 'r and b' and a lot rock and roll, doses of raunch and feedback mixed with harmony and melody that pack the emotional punch that is Rage To Live.


Luxury Condos (Coyote - compilation) - 1985
Eastern Shores (Record Runner - compilation) - 1986
Rage To Live (Bar/None) - 1986
The Water Music Compilation - 1989
Time For A Change (Bar/None - compilation) - 1989
Blame The Victims (Bar/None CD/LP/CS) - 1990


Glenn Morrow - Vocals and Guitar
Rich Grula - Bass and Vocals
Bob Riley - Drums
Ed Tomney - Guitar